“Pics for MSN friends”

I’ve had a couple of MSN messages recently which consist simply of a link.  On going to the link, I see something like this:

scr

I suspect my MSN friends fell for this scam; once they have told the site their MSN username and password, it can impersonate them and send messages to their friends — me in this case.

Anyone who has fallen for this scam should immediately change their MSN password. See instructions on the MSN website here.

This scam has been around for a long time in different guises. Sometimes it says you have won a prize (typically a free iPod or a free iPhone) and you should type in your username and password to “validate your identity” and claim your prize.

Never type your username and password into a website you don’t know!